Betrayal: Paul Campaign’s New Ad Against Santorum


Normally I wouldn’t post a campaign ad on here, just because I feel like you all can go and check them out on YouTube, if you’re that interested in watching them.  This one alternately cracked me up and raised my eyebrows, though, so I’m going ahead and posting it.  It’s called “Betrayal,” and it’s the Ron Paul campaign’s new ad attacking Rick Santorum on his dubious record.

As I’ve said before, I’ve been following Ron Paul for a long time – since long before he got popular, anyway.  Ron Paul has never been notorious for his scathing personal attacks on others.  If anything, I’ve read more comments from his followers saying that he ought to take in after them more often than he does.  Of course, I think part of his personal appeal is the fact that he almost always maintains a gentlemanly demeanor, which counts for a lot.  The gloves seem to have come off in 2012, though, and I don’t think that anyone could say that the Paul campaign isn’t coming out swinging this time around.

It’s certainly understandable that the Paul campaign is trying to take some wind out of Santorum’s sails.  I was frankly surprised by his tie in Iowa with Mitt Romney, but I suppose I shouldn’t have been, since fully 48% of the caucus-goers hadn’t made up their minds prior to voting.  Besides that, Iowa is religiously devout and socially conservative, for the most part, and Santorum played up that message pretty hard, so I guess his win isn’t altogether surprising.  I will maintain, however, that he lacks widespread appeal, as well as national organization and monetary support.  I look for his campaign to deflate about as quickly as it has crested.  I could be wrong, though.  (I hope not.  Santorum and Gingrich are the two candidates who most rub me the wrong way.)

I enjoyed this ad, in any case, and it’s certainly a serious change from “old school” Ron Paul campaign material.

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

2 Responses to Betrayal: Paul Campaign’s New Ad Against Santorum

  1. Mike says:

    You are doing a great job with expressing your views on Ron Paul. Keep up the superb work. Just a little note about the ad … I tend to believe it is promoted by a PAC … Also, doesn’t it drive you crazy they never use the candidate’s voice for the attacks but instead use a benign snippet (like a taped rubber stamp of Ron Paul’s voice approval) at the end of the ad?

  2. Thanks! Actually, this is an official campaign video – hence, the annoying “rubber stamp” at the end of the video. All official campaign videos are required to have the candidate approve the message verbally at some point, I believe. If memory serves, it has something to do with the campaign finance reform from McCain-Feingold… I think. But yes, it does drive me crazy, and I think it’s a bit silly that they have to do it. It’s a bit like those investment company commercials you see that encourage you to give them your money, but then they have a 15-second disclaimer voiced by an auctioneer telling you about everything that can go wrong.

    Frankly, though, I can understand why they have an actor voicing most of the ad. I love Ron Paul, but he is not the greatest public speaker. He stammers and trips over his words, and his voice gets a bit reedy. Advertising, for better or for worse, is all about image, and projecting the best image is the name of the political game – again, for better or for worse.

    There are some PAC ads out there. The one featuring one of Dr. Paul’s former patients is a good example. Well, actually the man’s wife was a former patient of his. That one was filmed by the Revolution PAC, which is headed by Gary Franchi.

Leave a Reply

