About Those Newsletters…


There has been some buzz swirling up concerning some racist newsletters that Ron Paul supposedly wrote back during the time when he was out of Congress.  This issue popped up back during the 2008 election, so it’s likely not the first time that old Paul supporters have heard about this.  It was answered generally to my satisfaction four years ago, but the media is really trying to run with this, so I decided to do some Interwebs detective work about it.

I will freely admit that I probably see Dr. Paul with a rosy-colored tint surrounding him.  Nobody is perfect, though, and that is something we all need to recognize.  That said, I do not think, nor have I ever thought that Ron Paul is a racist.  None of his actions support this opinion, and nothing that I am sure that he personally authored would give me reason to believe that.

From what I can gather about this whole newsletter non-issue is that the newsletter itself did bear his name, but it was not authored by Ron Paul.  In fact, it was probably never read by him at all.  At that particular juncture in his political history, Paul was back practicing medicine.  Lew Rockwell, it would appear, was in charge of authoring Ron Paul newsletters at that point in time.  Most of the writing – about 50-60% – was done by Rockwell, and the rest of it was done by interns.

Honestly, the whole thing is rather convoluted, and it took me quite a bit of digging to come up with an answer that I think will stand up to most criticism.  I’m not going to elaborate the whole thing, because it has already been done by someone else.  I am going to include the link at the bottom of this post so that you all may read it at your leisure.

I’m not surprised that this is becoming an issue in the media again, as Ron Paul is gaining a lot of steam right now.  It’s natural that the media is going to do some muckraking.  In terms of attacking Paul personally, I don’t think there is much to stand on here.  I do worry that it will influence those who are considering Paul as an option and don’t have the time or the desire to do some research and find out the real story here.

With that fact in mind, it might behoove Paul to elaborate a bit more on the issue, although he walked out on a CNN interview with Gloria Borger yesterday because she asked him about it (yet again).  This thing has gotten a lot of play over the years, and it seems like Paul is tired of answering the same question over and over, understandably.  I think, unfortunately, that the better strategy would be to answer it as succinctly and calmly as possible.  Walking out on the interview, to me, rather gives the impression of guilt, even if there is none.  And that could potentially hurt his campaign.

In any case, I don’t believe Ron Paul is a racist.  I hope that I’m right, and I will certainly eat my words if I’m not, but I don’t think that I am wrong on this matter.  If you are a Paul supporter, take the time to read over this document.  I think it will be immensely helpful in sorting out the timeline on this thing and will serve to answer any remaining questions that may linger about our favorite Dr. No.

Here is the link to the Scribd site where I found this.  You may download it, if you are a Scribd member.

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

