Ron Paul Debate Highlights 12/15


For those of you who aren’t devoted “Paulistinians,” sorry – this is another post about the good doctor.  These are the debate highlights from last night’s Iowa Republican debate.  I will readily admit that public speaking is not Ron Paul’s strength, but what he lacks in smooth transitions, he more than makes up for in decent talking points.  They really went after him about Iran, but I think he speaks excellently about war and peace.  Also, if you can’t stand Michele Bachmann – and I am among those who can’t – Ron Paul essentially hands her posterior back to her when she starts in about taking an aggressive stance with Iran.

I thought he did rather well, and he certainly came across as being more assertive than he has in the past, which is a good thing.  It bugs that me that Bachmann gets so much applause for wanting to attack Iran, but I have to remind myself that this is technically a Republican (read: hawk) debate, not a libertarian one.  I have to confess, I generally forget about the other candidates.  I try to block out the mainline Republicans as much as possible, because I think they’re about as useful as tits on a bull.

Even if you aren’t a big Paul supporter, I recommend viewing the video, particularly if the issue of peace is near to your heart.  Ron Paul is the only guy up there talking about bringing our troops home permanently, and that is music to my ears.

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

