Happy Thanksgiving from The Lady!


I just wanted to take a moment to wish any and all of my readers, especially those back home, a very Happy Thanksgiving.  As I’m currently abroad, holidays can feel a bit lonesome, even with my husband and friends around.  Tomorrow is just another day for us.  However, I would like to take a minute and think about the things that really matter this Thanksgiving, as we all have a lot for which to be thankful.

I miss my family a lot when I’m overseas.  My family had a big Thanksgiving reunion last weekend, and it’s hard to be away when everyone is posting pictures and guilting you about not being there, though it certainly wasn’t because we didn’t want to be.  Fortunately, most everyone I know here has a good “friend family,” and we’re all able to get together in some way and celebrate together, even though we can’t be back home with our folks.  Friends can oftentimes be just as good as family.

I’m very thankful that I have a good job that has allowed my family to save money towards purchasing a house.  I’m thankful that we’re all healthy and have a nice, warm apartment to call home on this blustery night.  I know that there are a lot of people who aren’t even half as fortunate as we are, and it’s to those people who have lost their homes in the crisis, have found themselves without work, and who are making do with less this holiday season that I would like to extend sincerest wishes for a holiday that is nonetheless filled with love and hope.

Times are hard for a lot of people right now, and the future is uncertain for many.  We have the tools to make our lives better in the coming year, if only we use them to their best advantage.  So for all of you, wherever you find yourselves this Thanksgiving and on into the holidays, may your travels be safe, may the food be plentiful, may your friends and family be well, may Black Friday not result in any major injuries, and may you find many reasons to be thankful this holiday season.  Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

