Paul Surging in Polls


It’s getting late, and I seem to be developing the nasty cold/sinus infection that is circulating at my school, but I wanted to post this.  Ron Paul’s candidacy site posted this article saying that he is currently surging in the polls.  It looks like he’s set to come in first or second in the Iowa and New Hampshire primaries, as of right now.  This is excellent news for those of us who have been supporting him for years.  I’ve been waiting a long time for this.

The pundit is claiming that Paul would make a legitimate run as a third-party candidate.  I have no idea why they have to inject that into the debate.  Paul has said over and over again that he won’t run as a third-party candidate.  Frankly, Paul running as a third-party candidate could potentially deal a fatal blow to any Republican candidate.  Paul fans – myself included – are notoriously devoted to their man, and most of them would leave the Republican establishment in a  heartbeat to vote for him.  He would also take away a large base of Democrat crossover voters, as well as independents.  While I seriously doubt that, should Paul lose the nomination, he will endorse the Republican candidate of choice, I don’t think we can expect to see him run third-party.  He has said over and over that he wouldn’t do it, and I believe him.

Still, I rather hate to see pundits even implying that he might, because it plants the seed in the readers’ minds that he won’t win, and I’ve had enough of that.  The other candidates have had their horns tooted.  When does Ron Paul get his turn?  Honestly, I believe that he will have to win Iowa or New Hampshire to garner mainstream media attention, and even then, I think they will try to downplay any victory of his to the American public.

Nevertheless, I am heartened by this good news.  It feels good when you see your cause making progress after spending years and years out in the political wilderness.  I guess every idea has its time.  Perhaps liberty is due to make a comeback!

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

