I miss Alan Grayson


I was just doing my usual evening perusal of Ron Paul’s campaign website.  It’s quite obvious that he’s making a concerted effort to put chinks in Herman Cain’s armor, as he seems to be the new media darling – at least for the next 10 minutes.  One of the blog articles was taking aim at Cain’s nonchalance towards the Federal Reserve policy.  This should hardly be surprising, as Cain is a former chairman of the Kansas City Fed.

I ran across a piece of information that, while I haven’t forgotten, gets me all angried up every time I read it.  In 2009, the Fed was unable to account for $9 trillion – yes, trillion – in off-balance sheet transactions.  There is a link in the blog article for this article from The Independent Institute about this issue.  The original article appeared in Bloomberg, and although it got rather a lot of attention at the time, it seems like a lot of that attention has fallen by the wayside as the economic downturn grinds on.  Americans have a short memory – too short.  I have yet to see any information anywhere whereby the Fed ever accounts for that $9 trillion.  According to former Florida Representative Alan Grayson, that is over $30,000 for every man, woman, and child in America.  And that should scare the oatmeal out of you.

Think about that.  Nine trillion bucks has been missing since some time in 2009.  Imagine if your bank lost your mortgage payment or “misplaced” the money from your savings account.  Most folks don’t have $30K in savings – if anything – so multiply that by whatever you have in your bank account, and that’s what the Fed misplaced on your behalf.  We know nothing about those transactions.  All we know is that they’re gone, seemingly disappeared into the money ether that seems to surround America.

Also attached to the Independent article is a video featuring Rep. Grayson grilling Elizabeth Cole, the Inspector General for the Fed.  This is the woman who, ostensibly, should know exactly where the money is, why it is there, and whether or not it ought to be there.  But she doesn’t.  Watch the video.  Do you think it is difficult to interpret what Mr. Grayson is saying?  I don’t.  I think Ms. Cole spends the bulk of her response time stalling and trying to deflect the question which, unfortunately for her, makes her appear monumentally stupid, as though she is unable to comprehend simple English.  Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

I loved Alan Grayson.  I didn’t agree with him on everything, but then, I haven’t ever met someone with whom I can agree on all topics.  There are a lot of videos out there on YouTube with Grayson lambasting any number of Fed lackeys, and I have probably watched all of them multiple times.  My husband and I just love that happy, devilish look he gets when he knows that he has completely flummoxed his sparring partner.

Grayson supported Audit the Fed (HR 1207) and broke ranks with the Democrats to oppose raising the debt ceiling in 2009 and 2010, before it became a push-button issue.  He was strongly in favor of Obamacare, but I guess you can’t have everything.  He has strong personal convictions about that, and I can respect that, even though I don’t agree with him.  He garnered himself some bad press when he appeared on Alex Jones’ radio program in 2009 and said of Fed Chairman Ben Bernanke‘s senior advisor Linda Robertson, “Here I am the only member of Congress who has actually worked as an economist, this lobbyist, this K-Street whore, is trying to teach me about economics!”  Needless to say, he didn’t get any brownie points for calling a woman a whore.  Do I think Congressmen should go around calling women whores?  No.  That said, I don’t really mind offensive people who get to the point, provided that they’re actually making one.

Grayson lost his re-election to Republican Daniel Webster, but honestly, I kind of miss him.  I miss watching him chew through Fed lawyers and lobbyists with a sort of gusto that most people save for five-star dinners and romps in the sack.  We need more dedicated folks in Congress who will actually attack the real issues and not vote the party line just because that’s what everyone else does.  We need some firebrands.  What we don’t need is more of the same – guys and gals who make big promises and then roll over and play dead 15 seconds after the election is over.

We also need more people to remember what the driving forces are that got us into this mess in the first place, and the Federal Reserve is at the top of that list.  Fiat money has never worked, in the long run.  There is not one example of it surviving in the long-term.  The sooner we audit and make moves to abolish the Federal Reserve, the better off the U.S. will be.  Please read this article, and check out Alan Grayson grilling these Fed monkeys, if you have time.  Even if economics isn’t your cuppa, I promise that you will enjoy watching someone try to squeeze an honest answer out of Washington power brokers.

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

