Yes, I Do Believe Someone is Poisoning Our Precious Bodily Fluids


Has anyone seen the movie “Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb?”  It’s an old favorite.  Gotta love Peter Sellers and George C. Scott.  I’m not going to give a full synopsis on the movie here, but there is a general, Jack D. Ripper, who has gone mad and believes that Communists are trying to poison everyone with fluoride.  The movie was made in 1964 and, at the time, everyone was pooh-poohing the notion that fluoride might be detrimental to one’s health.  Public fluoridation was considered one of the greatest breakthroughs in public health of the 20th century.  Is it possible that this might not be so true after all?

In short, yes.  Even the American Dental Association (ADA) and the Center for Disease Control (CDC) are now saying that fluoridation is bad for you, based on new findings.  How many Americans have heard about this in the mainstream media?  I don’t watch TV, as a somewhat general rule of thumb, because it angries up my blood too much.  As far as I can tell, there haven’t been any major press releases about this subject, and I know a fair few people who still think fluoride is a good idea.

I’m in my early late twenties, and like most folks my age, I got fluoride treatments when I was a child.  I never really thought much about it.  It was just part of going to the dentist, like getting that nasty salt spray all over my face and having the dental hygienists ask awkward questions while their fingers are in my mouth.  I’d heard my grandfather complain about fluoridation once or twice, but I dismissed it somewhat, thinking, Well, that’s Grandpa.  He hates everything.  Turns out, Grandpa might have been right.

Overall, the incidence of tooth decay (caries) has been on the decline in the Western world for quite some time.  To some degree, this has been contributed to the amount of fluoride consumed.  However, it would seem that this might not be exactly correct.  The decline in tooth decay appears to be universal.  However, water fluoridation is not.  Many countries in Western Europe do not fluoridate water.  Many fluoridate salt, but many do not.  Germany discontinued water fluoridation in the 1970s.  It would appear that most of the benefit derived from fluoride comes from topical application rather than internal ingestion.

In fact, there is a lot of evidence that suggests excessive fluoride ingestion is actually quite bad for one’s health.  Fluorides have the potential to cause bone cancer, lower IQ rates in children with excessive fluorosis, harm the gastrointestinal tract, interfere with healthy function of the thyroid, poison the kidneys… The list is actually quite extensive.

Granted, I’m not sure what the numerical value would be for excessive exposure to fluoride.  It likely varies from person to person, based on weight, age, and other factors.  Still, if a material is known to be toxic, is that really something you want to put into your body at all, even in small doses?  I sure don’t!  There are enough toxins floating around in the world without purposefully ingesting one more.  And here’s another thought: if fluoride is so dang good for us, why is there a warning on the toothpaste warning us – especially children – not to ingest it?  To me, that indicates some knowledge of the fact that fluoride can be harmful.  So why is it okay to drink it down with gusto, but swallowing it with toothpaste is to be avoided?  Sure, the dosage may be higher in toothpaste, but I drink a lot of water every day.  Surely I would wind up drinking down a similar amount, if I consume at least the minimum amount of water required for optimum health (which I do)?

Here’s another issue to consider, particularly from the libertarian bent: is it right for an outside authority to decide what is put into my drinking water without informing me or giving me a choice in the matter?  Although I know a fair few people who have some knowledge of fluoride, I suspect that we’re in the minority.  I doubt that most Americans think too much about the fluoridation of drinking water.  (Please correct me if I’m wrong about this.)  Nonetheless, does that mean that people don’t have the right to decide if they want to take a medication or supplement?  Hardly.  Everyone has the right to decide what goes into his or her body.

The last point we might consider is that dosage seems to be a real issue with fluoride.  It seems like it might be difficult to regulate exactly the correct amounts of fluoride being given to people.  Okay, pump it into a town’s water supply.  Is it evenly distributed to all homes in that area?  Can the dosage be affected by the house or municipal plumbing?  Is there anything in the pipes that might react harmfully with fluoride?  Honestly, I don’t know the answer to any of these questions.

I am fortunate enough that I can opt out of drinking fluoridated water.  I don’t currently live Stateside.  In fact, I live in a country where drinkable water comes from a bottle.  Most of our bottled water is fluoridated.  My husband and I choose only to purchase water that is not fluoridated.  Incidentally, the two brands that we prefer are more expensive.  When we return home, we intend to outfit all of our faucets with reverse osmosis filters.  We are lucky.

Many Americans – especially now – don’t have the means to opt out.  What happens if you are a family on limited means, unable to breastfeed your new baby, but don’t want to prepare the formula with fluoridated water?  By the way, the powers-that-be are now recommending that you don’t prepare baby formula with fluoridated water.  In any case, the ability to opt out shouldn’t be only for those who can afford it.  Wouldn’t it be so much better if local governments were giving people a say in whether or not their water is fluoridated?  Could this really not be put to referendum?  Let people make an informed decision for themselves!

All of this said, I think there are a lot of strong arguments against fluoridation of the water.  If people want to supplement with fluoride, let them make the decision to do so.  Compulsory medication of any kind is too problematic.  I am attaching a list of links here at the bottom.  I encourage all readers to peruse both sides and come up with your own conclusions.

The Fluoride Action Network
The Context: CDC and ADA Advice Against Fluoride Use
American Dental Association Fluoride Information Section
CDC Community Water Fluoridation Recommendations
Scientific Facts on Fluoride

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

8 Responses to Yes, I Do Believe Someone is Poisoning Our Precious Bodily Fluids

  1. Beth says:

    I’ve actually read a lot about this, I’ve been quite obsessed with alternative medicine and home remedies for quite some time and this comes up a lot in the stuff I read. I go out of my way to buy non-fluoridated toothpaste, but then of course, it’s in the water! >_<' One of my favorite websites is earthclinic.com- it's mainly for home remedies, but plenty of other issues like fluoride (and also detox from fluoride poisoning) are discussed. I particularly worry about bills that threaten to pull OTC supplements off the market because I'm a big believer in them- sure some of them may not do what they claim, but like you say- who are they to decide for us what we can/cannot or should take or what should be put in our water without our consent??

    • Oh, and I have a site that I really love. It has herbs and natural cures for order online, as well as lots of literature and videos for sale about making your own remedies, growing your own herb garden, etc. Just reading the information provided on site about the different herbs is fascinating!

      http://www.bulkherbstore.com

      • Beth says:

        I did get a chance to check this site out and definitely will be checking back again! I love finding new little remedies- especially when it saves me money or a trip to the doctor!!!

  2. I will definitely check out Earth Clinic. I’ve also been doing a lot of research in natural remedies, and I think it is so unfortunate that people who practice holistic medicine and natural, preventative therapy are often labeled “fringe” or “beardy-weirdies.”

    I have heard about the movement to take OTC supplements off of the shelves, and I would consider it a serious infringement on the market and on people’s decisions to control their health. I absolutely believe that supplements can improve a person’s health. I know that they’ve banned vitamin C intravenous drips and a few others. And let’s face it – the main reason that the government tries to ban things like this is because Big Pharma can’t make any money from it, and the FDA and other federal regulating bodies are batting for the major corporations. It’s sickening – literally. It’s killing people.

    I will definitely do some more articles on health and wellness, because I’m highly in favor of people using herbal remedies and such. I’d also like to do some more research on alternative cancer therapies, bioidentical hormone replacement, Chinese medicine, etc.

    • Beth says:

      Yeah, even my family always jokes about my weird remedies and the weird things I buy- chia seeds, flax meal, etc. Jacqui and Eric are living with me now and I’m sure they love the stench of apple cider vinegar I’ve been putting on Spot haha! (I’m actually trying a new remedy- just ACV soaked just on the back of his neck for an eye infection- even I was skeptical of this one but don’t have money for a vet visit and it had lots of stories of success on earthclinic- I am shocked but happy it’s working so well!)

      I would hate to see the supplements taken away- I think a lot of people have no idea what they’d be losing. I still don’t even know a small fraction of which do what and I’ve already found plenty I’d hate to be without! But yes, “sick care” brings in a lot more money than “health care”. And no one can patent things like vitamin C and make money off them, even though it likely does more to keep you healthy than things like flu shots, etc.

      The issue is especially personal to me since Anna’s Fibromyalgia diagnosis. I honestly believe it was because of the Gardisil vaccine they pushed her to get, even though she was under the weather and it’s not advised to vaccinate when you’re sick. I also think the pharmaceutical company tried to minimize and hide the risks from Gardisil. And now there is not a drug in the world that can make her better (she’s seen every kind of doctor, had every kind of test and there is nothing they can do to help- some doctors even have accused her of faking or just try to put her on antidepressants thinking she’s just some emo kid). And I think alternative medicine and better nutrition are the only things that can help her- but they don’t want you to know that. And then they want to take away the supplements that could actually make her better!

      And I would love to see more articles about those topics! I was excited to see you were into those things too. I don’t know many people who are. Although, I’ve finally gotten my mom to come around and see how valuable alternative medicine is. Especially after she spent years taking Anna from doctor to doctor and realizing how badly modern medicine had failed Anna.

      • That breaks my heart to hear about Anna. I was unaware that she had been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I’m totally in agreement with you about the possibility of the vaccination culprit, though. I am so vehemently against vaccination at this point, and I’ve heard that there have been a terrific amount of side effects from the Gardasil vaccine – effects that were potentially known by the company beforehand but not widely published. I thought about getting it years back, but then I started reading up a bit on vaccination, and I decided against it. I don’t think we’re even going to vaccinate our kids.

        I agree, though, that a varied, healthful diet and supplements are probably the best thing for her, at this point. There are so many amazing remedies that people simply aren’t aware can and do work, and it’s a shame, because it can all be done in one’s own kitchen. I know a few others who are somewhat interested in alternative medicine, but it seems like something that occurs more often on the “hippie” side of the fence. Nonetheless, I think alternative medicine is liberating and can potentially save a person’s life.

        I can’t wait to have an herb and vegetable garden when we get a house. I’m going to be one of those ladies who putters around in the garden and has bundles and bundles of herbs drying out in the basement and tinctures on the windowsill. Oh, and I’m glad your apple vinegar cure is working for Spot!

  3. Nys Cof says:

    Please sign the Whitehouse.gov to President Obama to stop funding, endorsing and promoting water fluoridation here:

    We need 5,000 names before October 26 for President Obama to take the issue seriously.

    https://wwws.whitehouse.gov/petitions#!/petition/prohibit-all-federal-agencies-promoting-endorsing-or-funding-fluoridation-public-drinking-water/SRYL4NwC

  4. Beth says:

    Yeah, it is really sad what happened to Anna. She’s been sick for a long time and didn’t really know what was wrong. She got really sick after she got the shot and never really got better and ended up dropping out of high school because she was too weak to make it to school most days. After seeing what she went through (and is still going through), I would never recommend that shot to anyone. And I’m wary of other vaccines, as well. We honestly didn’t realize it was the shot at first, and she’s been to literally dozens of doctors. The only thing they could find “wrong” was she was extremely low in vitamin D, but even after going on supplements to correct that it didn’t “cure” her. I know she wrote something on a blog about her fibromyalgia…I’ll have to find it if she still has it up…she’s on a million websites so I’m not sure where it might be. I’d have to ask her.

    And I agree, I think alternative medicine can do amazing things that modern medicine really can’t do anything for. I know I would be a lot healthier if I followed it more (my biggest problem is my sugar/carb/caffeine addiction!! lol) I did plant a vegetable garden this year, but the weather this year apparently wasn’t great for gardens- so it didn’t do too well (or maybe my green thumb is broken??! haha). Maybe next year!! I could always put a little row of pots on the windowsill. I’ve even kind of converted Jacqui to try out some of the stuff. Like she’s using natural stuff for teething and found a remedy for her kids upset tummies. She’s even doing cloth diapering for the baby (although I was kind of like ewwww- you had to do that when you move in with me- of all the things to turn hippyish about! hahaha…so gross!!)

Leave a Reply

