Mad as Hell


Sometimes I like to rant.  This is going to be one of those nights.

I am so angry about the way everything is going in my country right now.  I am expatriated for the moment, and part of me is incredibly excited about kissing U.S. soil again.  The other part of me is in fear that I’m going to have to watch everything I say, constantly defend and justify my choices and actions to people who will never even be affected by those decisions.

I want to have an herb garden!  I want to eat organic food that isn’t poisoned by antibiotics and growth hormones and pesticides!  I want to be able to buy raw milk from an Amish man if that’s what I feel like doing!  I want to put reverse osmosis filters on every tap in our house!  I don’t want my children, when they come, to be poisoned by the food I give them and the water we drink.

I think other people should be able to roll a joint if they want to!  In fact, I think all drugs should be legal!  I think prostitution should be legal, although I personally am strongly opposed to and disgusted by it, for reasons I’m not even sure that I fully comprehend.  I don’t think people should be punished for taking actions that don’t harm anyone but themselves!  Come on, look how well Prohibition worked out!  Portugal has legalized all drugs, and the addiction rate has actually decreased!  If we took drugs off the black market, the price would come down, and the drug-related crime would decrease!  Imagine!  People on the border wouldn’t have to worry about drug-related crime in their backyards!

You know what else makes me mad?  It makes me mad that we’re spending money on ridiculous “non-military military actions” or whatever it is that we’re calling going to Libya and bombing everything to ground.  How in the world can we justify what’s being done and call it “humanitarian” when the very people that we’re trying to protect are dying?!  Moreover, how is it that my liberal (read: Democrat) friends can magically justify Libya, which was not approved by Congress, and trash Bush until the end of time over Iraq and Afghanistan?  At least he had Congressional approval, even if there were no weapons of mass destruction!  I’m not lover or defender of Bush, but at least that was done right!  How is it that these people can howl about Bush and give Obama a complete and total pardon for an unconstitutional aggressive action?! Oh right, I forgot: this time it’s humanitarian!  Yeah, buddy, when somebody bombs my house to the ground, I’m sure going to wave up to the drones and say, “Hey guys, thanks for looking out for my best interests!  That was really humanitarian of you!”

And speaking of the troops, isn’t it about time that we left Germany, Korea, and all of the other countries we’re hanging out in?  Let’s look at Germany.  The war has been over for about 66 years, and yet Germany could still be considered an occupied nation.  Oh, but wait.  Germany doesn’t want us to leave, because all of the money our soldiers spend there is good for their economy.

Korea.  Wow.  Korea.  Although technically they’re still at war, North Korea rarely does anything more than rattle their chains and shoot evil glares over the DMZ.  North Korea is a nation of malnourished (and often starving) people using Cold War-era equipment.  Some of their tanks haven’t even had gas in them for years.  South Korea, by contrast, is a technologically savvy industrialized nation.  Do NOT tell me that they can’t take care of themselves.  They can.  We don’t need to be involved in the affairs of Koreans or Germans or anyone else.

I could go on and on and on about all of this.  It just drives me crazy that people can’t or won’t wake up and see what’s happening.  We’ve allowed our liberties to be slowly eroded, and now we’re at the juncture where mentioning them feels like doing little better than paying lip service to a United States that is desperately gasping out its last breath.  Are we really going to let our great experiment fail?

I don’t have all the answers.  There is no perfect answer.  I write letters to my reps.  I am writing this blog.  I want to home-school my kids and grow as much of my own food as possible.  I want Ron Paul to be elected and, although I don’t agree with him on every issue, we have to start somewhere.  For those of us who are liberty-oriented, we can’t sit around and wait for the “perfect candidate.”  Dr. Paul is a damn good one, and he’s the only person out there who is honestly trying to do what he thinks is best.  He is the smartest of the lot, and he actually cares about liberty and not just the power of the presidential position.

We have got to start doing things that make sense.  Sociology tried to teach me that there is no such thing as common sense, but I don’t believe that.  Common sense tells me that we can’t spend ourselves into prosperity or force peace by making war.  True republics are not fostered by aiming guns at people and telling them what to do.  Real liberty comes from choice.  We have the choice right now to make a REAL change or face the consequences.  I love my country, and I love the people.  I love the Constitution.  But dammit, the government really makes me angry.

I want more people to get mad.  In the words of Howard Beale in the 1976 film “The Network:”

“We know things are bad – worse than bad!  They’re crazy!  It’s like everything everywhere is going crazy, so we don’t go out anymore.  We sit in our house and slowly the world we’re living in is getting smaller, and all we say is, ‘Please, at least leave us alone in our living rooms.  Let me have my toaster and my TV and my steel-belted radios, and I won’t say anything.  Just leave us alone!  Well, I’m not going to leave you alone!  I want you to get mad!  I don’t want you to protest, I don’t want you to riot, I don’t want you to write to your Congressman, because I wouldn’t know what to tell you to write.  I don’t know what to do about the Depression and the inflation and the Russians and the crime in the street.  All I know is that first you’ve got to get mad!  You’ve got to say, ‘I’m a human being, goddammit!  My life has value!'”

I am mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

