The Apple of My Eye


I admit it.  I’m a Mac user.  User probably isn’t a strong enough word, actually.  I’m a Mac LOVER.  I was fervently a PC woman for a lot of years, and I will freely admit that my Dell was an excellent computer that served me well for nearly five years.  It had some driver issues, but overall, we had a great relationship.  And then I made the switch.  … For me, at least, the rumors were true: once you have Mac, you’ll never go back.  Well, not unless your husband will now all but ban you from buying a Mac because it costs too bloody much.  But that’s another story.

I stumbled onto this article on Mises.org, and I just had to share it.  I think it does a lot to shed some light on why Mac users – myself included in that number – will be so quick to defend Apple’s majesty and trash other (junkier) brands into the ground.  Let’s face it: besides being easy to use for computer idiots like myself, it is a status symbol.  People love flaunting their “half-eaten fruits,” as my husband (lovingly, though he won’t admit it) calls our Mac. People really do have a special place in their hearts for what they consider to be up-market items, and Apple is a fantastic example of this.

I love Jeffrey Tucker, and I think he makes some excellent observations about how capitalism generally works to lift up society, rather than drag it down.  Enjoy!

http://mises.org/daily/5613/Steve-Jobs-and-the-Beautification-of-Capitalism

About The Lady Libertarian
I am American, currently expatriated but hopeful about getting back home one of these days. Besides reading and writing about politics, I enjoy camping, sailing, canoeing, making pie, and traveling. I hope you'll enjoy this blog and find it informative and accessible.

Leave a Reply

